Center for Metamaterials receives continuing grant support for third five-year phase from NSF


The Center for Metamaterials just received its award letter for a third five-year phase from National Science Foundation.

This is an Industry/University Collaborative Research Center (I/UCRC), which is supported by annual fees from companies, who vote on projects proposed by the faculty. Their financial support typically goes toward student stipends and tuition and is a very valuable RA resource for our Ph.D. program in Optical Science and Engineering. There are presently only five Phase III I/UCRCs nationwide.

The arduous path to the Phase III award was the collaborative effort of Professor Dr. Ishwar Aggarwal, Assistant professor Dr. Tino Hofmann, and Professor Dr. Michael Fiddy.